Aryan Jay was

"We believe that the Gospel values of an inclusive society are best represented in the political manifesto of the ANC."

2 CANA CATAT

"God calls us to hold every political party accountable to the values of the Christian Gospel. This task does not begin nor does it end with the elections. After the installation of a new Government we will continue to present the challenges of the Gospel to those who have

we as Christians must decide which policies best approximate Christian values.

We have examined the claims of the different parties, and their historical records. We believe that the Gospel values of an inclusive society committed to the care of

political power.

No political party can claim to be perfect. They all in different ways have their shortcomings. Nevertheless, not all their policies are of equal merit. Some are closer to the values of the Gospel than others, and therefore the poor, the marginalised, and the oppressed are best represented in the political manifesto of the African National Congress. For this reason we* shall vote for the ANC in this election – while continuing critically to assess the implementation of their policies."

*Signatories to: A Christian Approach to the Elections.

African Apostolic Church: Rev H Dhula, Rev F V Dhula

African Methodist Episcopal Church: Rev A Josias, Rev P Mentoor, Rev A Booyse, Rev D J^acobs, Dr L Louw, Mr W Schuman, Mr P Skei, Ms Y Dreyer, Ms S Josias Mr G Longwe Sen, Mrs D Jackson-Young Anglican Student Federation WC: Ms D Mark

Catholic Church: Fr B Hendricks OFM CAP, Fr B Galant

Church of The Province of SA: Mrs L Tutu, Fr M Esau, Fr C Ahrends, Fr E Arrison, Fr T Pearce, Fr C Hartniek, Fr B Beck, Fr J Dyers, The Ven A Langenhoven Fr T Lester, Fr M Malan, Fr P Mdunyehva, Dr M Nash, The Ven D Ralawe, Fr B Swartland, Rev W Jakobsen, Fr L Adriaanse, Fr C Kokoali **Community Church in SA:** Rev G Cyster

Concerned Christians: Mr S Morilly

Holy Family Order, Catholic Church: Sr Theresa Paul

Kuilsriver College of Ed.: Mr S Henkeman

Methodist Church of SA: Rev H Madlala, Rev K Benjamin, Rev P Grassow, Rev M Stephenson, Rev K Vermeulen, Mr R Dreyer, Rev T Kotze, Rev D Adendorff, Rev R van der Merwe

Moravian Church: Rev K T August, Rev M October, Rev C Wessels **National Baptist Church:** Rev V Mtini

N G Kerk in Africa: Ds S Mtwana, Dr W Mazamiza

N G Sendingkerk: Ds J De Waal, Dr S P Abrahams, Ds N Botha, Dr S Pick, Ds J Thyse

Peninsula Technikon: Mr F Sonn

Preshyterian Church of SA: Rev J Pillay

Research Institute on Christianity in SA: Ms L Liddell

Street Law Project: Mr P Volmink

UCT Religious Studies Department: Prof J De Gruchy, Rev B N Pityana, Prof C Villa Vicencio, Prof C Wanamaker United Congregational Church SA: Rev A J R Maart, Mr J Martin, Rev S De Gruchy, Rev R Petersen

UWC: Ms W Esau, Mr J Magerman

UWC ACS: Mr V Entley

UWC - SRC: Mr G Siebritz

UWC Dept. of Educational Psychology: Mr J L Engelbrecht

UWC Faculty of Theology: Prof J Adonis, Mr R Arendse, Dr W Boesak, Ds R Botman *UWC Institute of Historical Research: Prof H C Bredekamp*

UWC Sociology Department: Dr J Ellis



A better life for all. Working together for jobs, peace and freedom.

Issued by ANC Western Cape 12 O.Box 13123, Sir Loury Rd, 790 HUNT LASCARIS TBWA (CAPE) 404014