SDF CONSTITUTIONAL WORKING COMMITTEE

417.1.2

- (e) that the Jamestown Civic Association and Jamestown Action Group be granted separate full membership with one member each on the SDF, CWC, DWC and Steering Committee;
- (f) that it be noted that the Pniel Civic Association and the Pniel and Johannesdal Ratepayers and Residents Association did not submit the relevant information as requested and their applications could therefore not be considered;
- (g) that the membership of the Technical Sub-committee of the CWC (Membership of the SDF) be not expanded for the reason as mentioned in 3.3.1(d) above; and
- (h) that the application attached as PAGES 23 24 received from the Association of Municipal Electricity Undertakings (AMUE) for observer-membership be approved with one representative each on the SDF, CWC and DWC.

FOR CONSIDERATION.

3.3.1 AGREED

that the matters agreed upon be accepted subject to the following amendmends:

(a) Item 3.3.1(b) : Pniel ANC

<u>Agreed</u> that the question of full membership status for Pniel ANC be further pursued by the Technical Sub-committee of the CWC (Membership of the SDF) after new submissions have been received from the Stellenbosch ANC.

(b) Item 3.3.1(f) : Phiel Civic Association and Phiel and Johannesdal Ratepayers and Residents Association

Agreed that, due to the fact that further information has now been received from the abovementioned organisations, the applications be referred back to the Technical Sub-committee for reconsideration.

The meeting adjourned at 21:50.

CONFIRMED.

CHAIRPERSON

cwc20f94/cr

MINUTES :

JAM van Schoor explained the reasons for his methods and said that he is sorry if his modus operandi did not meet with the approval of some of the organisations,

AGREED

- (a) that the discussion document be referred back to the Technical Sub-committee of the CWC (Transitional Local Council) and that the ANC nominate their representatives for the said Committee;
- (b) that the three facilitators meet with the ANC to discuss their withdrawal from the SDF unless their demand, that JAM van Schoor publicly apologise for the content of the discussion document and the way he handled the matter, is met; and
- (c) that the Technical Sub-committee of the CWC (TLC) now finalise the statutory/non-statutory issue (after the finalisation of the membership issue) as agreed to by the CWC on 1994-05-18 (item 6).

(The ANC and some of its alliance organisations withdrew from the meeting at 21:20).

3.3 MEETING OF THE TECHNICAL SUB-COMMITTEE OF THE CWC (MEMBERSHIP OF THE SDF) HELD ON 1994-06-09 (at 17:30)

The minutes are attached as PAGES 13 - 24.

FOR CONFIRMATION.

3.3 RESOLVED

that the minutes be confirmed.

3.3.1 Matters arising from the minutes to be considered by the CWC.

The Technical Sub-committee of the CWC (Membership of the SDF) agreed:

- that the number of representatives previously allocated to each organisation remain unchanged (revised list attached as PAGE 22);
- (b) that the Pniel ANC be accepted as a observer-member with one representative each on the SDF, CWC and DWC;
- (c) that the Eikestad Residents Association be accepted as a full member with 2 representatives on the SDF and one each on the CWC, DWC and Steering Committee;
- (d) that the investigation into the sudden mushrooming of numerous organisations who seek membership of the SDF be regarded as irrelevant due to the decision taken at the Special SDF meeting held on 1994-05-02 (item 3(c)), that no further applications for membership be accepted after 1994-05-17;

MINUTES :

3.1 RESOLVED

that the minutes be confirmed subject to the deletion of recommendation 2(b).

3.2 MINUTES OF TECHNICAL SUB-COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE CWC (TRANSITIONAL LOCAL COUNCIL) HELD ON 1994-06-09 (at 16:00)

The minutes are attached as PAGES 9 - 12.

FOR CONFIRMATION.

3.2 RESOLVED

that the minutes be confirmed subject to the substitution of 2(a), (b), (c) and (d) with the following:

"2. that the discussion document be referred to a CWC meeting to be held on Monday, 1994-06-20 at 19:30."

3.2.1 Matters arising from the minutes to be considered by the CWC.

The Technical Sub-committee of the CWC (TLC) agreed:

- (a) that the discussion document be accepted;
- (b) that the previously agreed upon 50/50 model be rescinded;
- (c) that a nominated transitional council for Stellenbosch be compiled as follows:

(i)	"Town" (students included)	:	9	members	
(ii)	Idasvalley/Cloetesville	:	8	members	
(iii)	Kaya Mandi	:	5 (6)	members	
(iv)	Satellite towns	:	3	members	
	Total	:	<u>25 (26</u>)	members;	and

 (d) that the aforementioned be referred to a CWC meeting to be held on Monday, 1994-06-20 at 19:30.

FOR CONSIDERATION.

3.2.1 See item 3.2.

Me M Verwoerd stated that the discussion document (drawn up by JAM van Schoor) is rejected by the ANC and some of the alliance organisations, as well as the methods that were used by JAM van Schoor which led to the compliation of the discussion document. They demand that JAM van Schoor publicly apologise for the content of the document and the way he handled the matter. MINUTES :

,

Freedom Front ACDP	:	HFV Boshoff Me SI Buchner
Democratic Party	:	ER Gordon
PAC	:	VV Myataza ME Swartz
Kylemore Management Committee	:	A Adams PP Williams JT Swartz
Kylemore Ratepayers and Residents Association	:	T Newman D Carolissen J Williams
Member Observers:		
Chamber of Business	:	L Silberbauer
Cloetesville Community Health Committee:	:	WN Ross
Stellenbosch Relations Committee	:	Me E Retief
SISTA	:	MF Patel
SAAME	:	DGA Falck
Other Observers:		
Pniel Civic	:	B Smith
Eikestadnuus	:	PH Malan

* * * * *

1. LEAVE OF ABSENCE

1. RESOLVED

that leave of absence be granted to MC Carinus (Stellenbosch Sakekamer) and JL Wentzel (Klapmuts Steering Committee).

2. STATEMENTS AND COMMUNICATIONS BY THE CHAIRPERSON

2. NONE.

3. MINUTES OF CWC AND CWC TECHNICAL SUB-COMMITTEE MEETINGS

3.1 CWC MEETING HELD ON 1994-05-18

The minutes are attached as PAGES 3 -8.

FOR CONFIRMATION.

MINUTES OF A SDF CONSTITUTIONAL WORKING COMMITTEE MEETING HELD BETWEEN REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STELLENBOSCH AND ENVIRONS COMMUNITY BASED ORGANI-SATIONS AND STATUTORY BODIES IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, TOWN HALL COMPLEX, PLEIN STREET, STELLENBOSCH ON MONDAY, 1994-06-20 AT 19:30

PRESENT :	
Facilitators	: L du Plessis (Chairperson) CVR Honey
Full Members:	
Existing Statutory Bodies:	
Joint Stellenbosch Town Council and Management Committee	: JAM van Schoor DEW Schumann EPS Taljaard RP Conradie SW Oliphant AN September JP Retief (Adviser) L de Villiers (Adviser) CTB Davy (Secretary)
Johannesdal Management Committee	: MJ Lackay W Meyer
Pniel Management Board	: PJ Cyster
	* * * * *
Stellenbosch Ratepayers Association	: FH Stephens BJP Pienaar
SHAC	: J Nortjé W Nel
	P Louw C Lewis HC de Klerk
ANC	C Lewis
ANC	C Lewis HC de Klerk : Me M Verwoerd F Adams
	C Lewis HC de Klerk : Me M Verwoerd F Adams RE Moses
SANCO	C Lewis HC de Klerk : Me M Verwoerd F Adams RE Moses : MM Ngcofe : AH Gaum N Flaatten
SANCO National Party	C Lewis HC de Klerk HC de Klerk Adams RE Moses MM Ngcofe AH Gaum N Flaatten DJ Oosthuizen

Burgemensly Nof DEW. Schammen Prof. L. du Plessio Mr. CUR. Homey.

Help ast met meegemende notule, veal ilem 3.2.1, wat et in oorleg met korie letief gesteryf het. Het is enige dyrgings/touroegings. My bardnasjien, wit normalancy intotekense web, hil my in die Rech geboui. CTB DAVY

1994.06 - 23