Laingsburg, Evangelical Lutheran Church
Format Extent9 colour photographs
RightsThese items are subject to copyright protection. Reproduction of the content, or any part of it, other than for research, academic or non-commercial use is prohibited without prior consent from the copyright holder.
MetadataShow full item record
A little outside of Laingsburg lies the Lutheran Church that, according to an inscription above the entrance door, dates from 1884. Detached from the church sits a neat bell tower with a bell that has been painted silver apart from the main decorations that have been painted black. From the decorations and with the Lutheran Church from Touwsrivier as an example it is easy to discover the founder of the bell. It is Gustav Collier from Zehlendorf. Apart from the decorative bands below the shoulder and on the sound bow there are three moulding rings above the knee. The further decorations reveal something more about the origin and use of the bell. On one waist one reads VAN DE KINDEREN DER ZONDAG-SCHOOL TE REINIKENDORF. NABIJ BERLIJN. 1889. A similar reference to the donors can be found on the Bochum-bells in the Rhynse Kerk in Stellenbosch. On the other side of the waist is an engraving of Jesus’ head under which stands KOMT TOT JESUS. The canons of the bell are the beautiful angel heads that are traditional in bells of Gruhl, Collier and Voss.
- Laingsburg